About Us

John Peterson – Co-Founder and Chief Rainmaker

JP Picture2I have been in the chemical engineering recruiting business since 1980 and prior to that I spent 3 years working for AT&T/Bell Labs. Prior to starting my career, I was in the U.S. Navy for 4 years (1971-1975), stationed at the Pearl Harbor submarine base. During my time in the Navy, I spent a total of 18 hours at sea… I really do love my job and I hope to continue working for 20 more years.

Short Interview with John Peterson:

Where did you learn the most about life? Going to bars with my father from age 5 to age 17 on weekends and weeknights, in a small town in Central New York.

Who do you admire most in life? My mother, Elizabeth, who had a rough family life but was always positive and who never said an unkind word about anybody.

What is your current state of mind? I’m happy with my business, happy with my wife Denise and happy to work with Adam who is a Christian that walks the walk and talks the talk.

What do you enjoy most about being a recruiter? I really enjoy earning the trust of an employer or applicant and working with them to make their life better.

What talent would you most like to have? I would have a singing voice that my wife could tolerate 🙂

What is your most treasured possession? My father’s WWII diary comes to mind but other than that – I’m not really a “things” kind of person.

———————————————————————————————-

AKAdam Krueger – Co-Founder and Wizard of Information

I’ve been working as a technical recruiter and research assistant now for almost 10 years after graduating from Wheaton College in 2006 with a degree in Psychology. It’s been fun and challenging to start a new company with John and I really enjoy the work that I do. In particular, I’ve enjoyed seeing how technology has changed this business, even in just the last 10 years, and I’m excited to see how it continues to integrate with the recruiting business.

Short interview with Adam Krueger:

What is your most treasured possession? My cello – I started playing the cello when I was 10 years old and at one point, I had ambitions of becoming a professional cellist (spent a year at a conservatory my first year of college). I think I treasure my cello a lot because not only do I still enjoy playing it, but it represents a lot of work on my part and a lot of time and energy on the part of others (my parents, mostly).

What do you enjoy most about being a recruiter? There are two aspects to this job that I really enjoy; I like being able to make a difference for people, whether it is getting someone a new/better job or being able to make a hiring manager’s life easier by filling one of the job openings that is causing them pain/irritation. Additionally, I like watching and participating in the technological evolution of this business.

What talent would you most like to have? I would like to have a voracious appetite for reading and, along with that, the ability to retain everything that I read. I like to read and do it when I can, but I don’t make the time for it and, as a result, don’t read as much as I would like to.

What is your greatest achievement in life so far? I would say that growing a small business and my two daughters are my greatest achievements in life.

If you couldn’t be a recruiter, what other occupation would you do? I would love to work in the front-office for my favorite baseball team, the Minnesota Twins. That would be a dream job.

What quality do you admire most in others? The people I admire the most are those people that you meet or get to know that make you want to be a better person. My wife, Leslie, is definitely one of those people.


Harry PictureHarry Zuber – Associate Recruiter

Harry joined Sun Recruiting in May 2016. He is also a graduate of Wheaton College (2013) and spent two years in Austria on a work-study scholarship. He was born and raised in Eastern Iowa.

Short interview with Harry Zuber:

Describe the town you grew up in. I grew up in Amana, IA – Amana is a unique place consisting of 7 villages and about 1,300 residents. It is Iowa’s #1 tourist destination with a rich history. There were 90 students in my graduating high school class – it is a smaller school and I was able to participate in a bunch of activities including clubs (DECA, 4H, Boy Scouts), sports (football, baseball, basketball), and music.

What did you learn from your parents? My entire family lived within a 5-mile radius of our house, my grandparents used to live across the street from us and family, in general, was very important growing up. Not only did I learn a good ethic, but also how to enjoy the good things in life.

What are some of the jobs you’ve held?

I worked at a fruit market in Germany, I was a singing waiter at a theater, I worked in fundraising for Wheaton College when I was a student there and I was a student counselor at IES-Abroad in Vienna, Austria.

What quality do you admire most in others?

I very much admire honesty, but I am also motivated by the enthusiasm I see in others.

 

Group Shot

Save